Poets logo

Rest in Peace H.D.

A Poem by Dylan "Talonted" Garcia

By TalontedPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Like
Rest in Peace H.D.
Photo by Mr Xerty on Unsplash

I knew yee well

You were my very fabric

That which kept me going

Even when the rain fell and flooded my street

Even when the one blizzard came and the cold took over

You were there for me in High School

When I had no direction

But you were there to guide me

And help shape me like a clay molder

Yes you put your hands on my heart

On my head and helped build me up

Then years and years later you were also there

When the clay needed rebuilding

You started from scratch and built me up again

Shaping my very being with new nuances

Out with the old, in with the new

It was you once again who led me to a new path worth walking

Oh yes, I knew yee well

A guiding force, so strong

Yet, the world always tormented you

With words so vile and concepts so foreign

You and I both could not comprehend

What this world was exposing to this clay mold

What flames this world used to melt

And what waters so deep that we were lost in the torrent

Now you are gone

No longer there to be a guide

I am lost in a desert

With no GPS and no one to mold me

I miss you so much

I wish I could bring you back

But this world is too cruel for me to feel right about doing so

But I will always remember the way you let me see clearly

To you: My Hopes and Dreams

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Talonted

I am a Business Leadership Associate's graduate with a passion for creating. I do mostly poetry of which I hope to speak to other people's souls, share my emotions, maybe connect, and maybe even help a few people in the process

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.