Poets logo

Resisting A Rest

I've discovered that I'm both an HSS (High Sensation Seeker) and an HSP (Highly Sensitive Person),and it's complicated ;)

By Auntie LiciousPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
Resisting A Rest
Photo by Anna Tarazevich on Unsplash

Being an HSS and an HSP

Means there's this 50/50 in me

But that doesn't mean I'm divided

It's just that two worlds have collided

I crave to feel deeply, and get high on it all

And yet I need solace, to slow down to a crawl

I visualize rebellion, then get lost in the details

While my heart opens wide and my breath exhales

So often I seek stimulation

Is it for the rush or the validation?

When things are whack and life is off track,

There's no Yin to my Yang, no muffle to my bang

But then the fires burn real low

Until I patiently blow

On the little glowing embers

And hold myself so tender

To balance these two sides I'll do my best

I promise to no longer resist

A rest.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Auntie Licious

She is a never ending story written in the stars.

Alyssa has been a lifelong writer, having recently begun sharing her creations more widely. Her poems are inspired by nature, heartache, activism, sensitivity and mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.