Poets logo

Resilience's Triumph: A Survivor's Anthem

Whispered Battles, Silent Victory: A Journey from Darkness to Liberation in the Face of Domestic Abuse.

By Reena GowdaPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Resilience's Triumph: A Survivor's Anthem
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

*Note:This poem contains graphic content and depicts domestic abuse. Readers's discretion advised.*

In shadows cast by cruel night's embrace,
I dwell in depths of a hidden disgrace.
Within these walls, my spirit's breath withheld,
I bear the weight of a story untold.

His hands, once tender, now wield pain and fear,
Leaving marks unseen, but my soul can't clear.
Like brittle petals crushed by raging storm,
My innocence shattered, a heart forlorn.

Each word a weapon, cutting through my core,
He twists my truth, my spirit to ignore.
My tears, like raindrops, fall on barren ground,
Lost in a silence where hope can't be found.

Whispered promises of love turned to lies,
His rage a tempest, thunder in disguise.
I cower in corners, my spirit confined,
Longing for freedom, a lifeline to find.

But deep within, a spark of strength remains,
A flicker of hope that endures the pains.
I gather fragments of courage anew,
Resolving to break free, to start anew.

For I am more than a victim's disguise,
A phoenix rising, with fire in my eyes.
With every scar, I'll forge a path of light,
Reclaiming my voice, reclaiming my right.

No longer defined by the chains that bind,
I'll find solace in the love I will find.
For in my heart, resilience takes its flight,
A survivor's anthem, reclaiming my life.

sad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.