Poets logo

Resilience

near death, now life

By Jessica Amber BarnumPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Resilience
Photo by Tyler Lastovich on Unsplash

to get the high

up to the summit

where the elevation buzz

reminds our brain

that “pedal crank” cocaine

is the only drug of choice

and we snort the perfect ride line

when overdosing

on the descent

And then …

the crags and crevices of the conscience

a coagulating and cluttering soul-soup

there I was

teetering on the edge

of existence

injury, insulted intuition, infection, insanity

life snagged by the shards of a cyclist’s tsunami

bolts unleashing the vomit of my “But I’m tough!”

loosening the threading of my innate

Rumbling the rickety thunder of my blunder

diseasing the dynasty of my ego

clenching the jaws of my “But I’m so MTB mindful.”

gripping the guts of the

already broken spokes of my everything

but hell if I let that batshit make me batshit

so I get back on the bike

and I endure the trippiest of trippy trails

my life released from near death’s snare

I suspect that’s how it rolls, folks

case in study

Thanks for reading, and for considering a clicked heart, comment, Pledge and Tip if you so choose. See more of my writing and info about me here: Jessica Amber Barnum

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Amber Barnum

I’m a teacher, writer, biker and owner of Wordplay Wilderness, LLC. To read and write is to be alive. To read and write with my students is to thrive. To read and write while riding a bike means people can tell me to "Book it on a bike." :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.