Poets logo

Resent

web of words

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
27
Resent
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Dear Ex,

I resent my heart for the things that it holds and my mind for the thoughts that it wont let go . I hate my head, lips and mouth for telling you so.

I regret telling you things I should have kept safe , from the callous disregard you have for my space .

The tones that you use when you start to erase , the fact and events that clearly took place - for a wordy time that never existed. No matter how adamantly I have insisted

Your skill to design and rearrange all the facts , to neatly and strangely shove my back, into a corner of words

I continue on cue to react to the game , knowing no matter what, it all ends the same.

I will cry and defend turning myself inside out , while you stir up the storm reminding me about -things that you heard but you cant tell me who , but I don’t respond right so the lie must be true .

And I keep spinning round the words that you choose , till I’m tied up in ropes made of words.

Tangled in innuendo and speculation , constantly defending my situation - when all along it was only a hoax.

A ploy to keep me trapped in a prison of lies.

But oh no, no way - not this time - this time I have the strength and the power to cut through this web.

No longer clinging to what i did in the past , breaking free and just leaving instead.

Free myself, and be my own salvation, I don’t know why I didn’t before.

I’ve picked myself up and gathered my pride no longer stuck on the floor.

I finally found some self respect, not to lay there and take anymore.

So, the next time my name crosses your lips, and you long for the days when I gave a shit.

Just remember your choices brought us to this place, but I took the blame, so that you could save face.

I’ll forgive and forget, cause the weight wears me down. I no longer want that mess hanging around.

So, goodbye and good luck with your life after me, it won’t take to long for me to believe, fate has taught me a lesson about loving myself. I don’t need you no more, you can go f**@ yourself

Sincerely,

Me

surreal poetry
27

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartila2 months ago

    I think you wrote my story, and that of too many - but love the expression of strength discovered. :)

  • You go, girl! I know that words alone do not get it done & that there continues to be a lot of hurt, but it can begin the journey into healing & wholeness for you. Blessings to him. (And just in case you're worried about me reading this--or anything else that you write, for that matter, I agree with you. He can go f**@ himself.)

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Boom! This was your start? Wow. You've really been gifted from the beginning. This is...crikey...so raw and revealing and amazing for it! Well done!

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Amazing work - so raw and full of truth! That ending...I love it so much 😍 Nailed it!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Love this, especially the ending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.