Poets logo

Rescue Mission

Lyrics from my song "Rescue Mission"

By Emily WilderPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
RESCUE MISSION

You said you wished I was prettier

So I got mad at pretty girls

You said you wished I was skinnier

So I worked out even more

Then you said there's not

Much to grab onto in the front

So I cut myself open

And paid a doctor way too much

And now I'm feeling empty

I'm feeling so sad

And I don't know

Who I even am

Cause I spent four whole years

Holding my breath

Trying t o squeeze into

Whoever you wanted me to be

Now that I left

And I'm finally free

I'm on a rescue mission to find me

I'm on a rescue mission to find me

Stay up all night

Searching through the woods

For a girl gone missing

And digging up dirt

While you're smiling at my vigil

Passing 'round candles

Making plan for a funeral

But don't you dare speak so soon

Cause I'm getting closer

I can hear her cries

You said I wouldn't live without you

You said I'd never survive

Well, surprise surprise

Despite it all darling I'm still alive

And I won't waste one more year

Holding my breath

Trying to squeeze into someone else

That's not me

Now that I left

And I'm finally free

I'm on a rescue mission to find me

I'm on a rescue mission to find me

I once was lost

But Now I'm found

Was blind but now I see

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Wilder

Hi, I'm Emily but you can call me Emmy. I am a singer songwriter/poet - I post bits of songs I've written and sometimes just straight up poems. Follow me on Instagram if you feel like it @emilywildermusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.