Poets logo

Renting Cycle

Packing up and moving out...

By pamela mayerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Renting Cycle
Photo by Breno Assis on Unsplash

We were the renting people

All houses within six blocks

Stayed in the school district

Elementary to high school

Three bedrooms - two baths

Renters, stories all could tell

Families, divorces, deaths

Holidays and get togethers

Kid’s Birthdays, sleepovers.

By Jorge Ibanez on Unsplash

The non-stop churning of lives.

One house had tons of roaches.

One house had chiminey rats.

One house had loads of spiders.

These were our houses, til one day

My parents bought us a home.

My home - I was already 13

I finally had my own space.

A place to call my very own.

I now knew that a house

Is not always a home.

Ownership of memories,

A room, mine to decorate.

Friends and relatives

Gather at my home.

Mostly a home of my own

Means I don’t have to move

When the lease is up.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

pamela mayer

Pamela Mayer does all things creative — theatre, art, and writing. She is certain she will bump into her Prince Charming in the produce section of Trader Joe’s, Miami Beach very soon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.