Poets logo

"rename yourself"

2020

By melancholy galaxiesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

i wonder on occasion, had my mother and father settled on a different name to print upon my birth certificate, would it have altered the course of my life in any way at all.

if they had called me "tyra," would i have grown to favor the warmth of colors like yellow or orange or neon pink? and would i wrap my body in their shades, unafraid to draw in the eyes of those who might condemn me for adorning my weighty figure with such "unflattering" colors?

would i even be as large? or would i treat food as sustenance and less of a thing to fill up empty holes, the type of holes that cannot be filled with cakes and chips.

would i even care?

would i even care, if i were thin or fat or something in between? what if all the things gnawing at my heart today were nothing more than passing thoughts to her?

i wonder who "tyra" could've turned into, if not just the same, though i suppose it's futile to daydream about the potential of some letters, added and rearranged.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

melancholy galaxies

• tory edana talbott •

my other profiles:

www.facebook.com/melloncolliegalaxies

www.instagram.com/melancholy.galaxies

www.twitter/melloncolliegal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.