Poets logo

Remnants and Refuse I

The Last Dregs

By Meggen Olson Published 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Artwork by Anthony James, Photo by Meg Olson

The end of the world put us all behind glass panes

with harsh lights beaming down on our heads

we were artifacts,

remnants, refuse, the last dregs of a broken world

nothing beautiful remained and it was all barren.

Artwork by Anthony James, photo by Meg Olson

But a savior came and cradled.

the calamity and catastrophe around us in their cracked and broken hands,

sent us through the infinite portals of light and darkness.

and broke us into our fragile, fractal structures.

where new crystalline forms could emerge from the skins we had built to protect ourselves.

And all the while, we would be on display,

for the new world to see...

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Meggen Olson

Hey guys. My name is Meg. I'm a writer, artist and tarot reading based in SoCal. I love writing and hope to share my work with you in this way. Please enjoy and let me know if you have any feedback for me. I'm happy to help where I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great job! Fantastic work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.