Poets logo

Remembering My Mama

especially on her day: January 3

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Ball & Jacks Game

Dear Mama,

Because you were born on January 3, 1929, I have decided to remember you especially on this day:

J jacks you taught me how to play that game, and when I was older, you taught me canasta. You had a special way of shuffling those two decks of cards. In my mind, I can still see your hands doing that.

A atomic bomb you and I discussed the significance of its invention, the cost of war, and what freedom meant. I was so proud of you for having all of that in your heart and head. You were always current with the news.

N never you never gave up on any family member. You never belittled, but you did call us out when we were less than we could be. But you never stopped believing the best in us.

U urgency was never in your vocabulary, you procrastinator, you. We were late for school and so many other important dates. You hated being rushed. But we were still always late.

A a dreamer you were. You probably needed to be more practical, but then that would have changed the course of our lives. Dreaming is also very important. The main thing is your dreams...well, they made us believe in ourselves a little more.

R ready to encourage always. We had you to comfort us always. When hugs and words didn't suffice, you would cook our favorite food. You made it all better.

Y you were my mother. You weren't perfect, but now I understand why. And you were enough. I wish I could say that to you.

3 three children born alive and one baby boy miscarried. Now that you are in Heaven, I hope you are holding him tight and giving him the love you always carried in your soul for him. You never forgot him.

1929...the number of hugs and kisses I'm sending to you!

(I am continuing with L.C. Schafer's 365 day writing challenge prompts even though it was supposed to be microfiction!)

If you enjoyed reading about my mom, here's more:

This one is the story about her death. I couldn't write it in first person. It was too painful.

Free VerseFamily
8

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    A lovely tribute to your mum ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    What an awesome mom poem 🥰😍

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    🎂🍨🎁🎉🎈🥳😢Sending hugs❤️

  • Happy Birthday to your mom in Heaven! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Julygwynet4 months ago

    Happy birthday to your mother in heaven! I believe she would be incredibly proud to have such an amazing person like you. 🌹🎉

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Happy Birthday to your mom in Heaven!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Awe, happy birthday to your mummy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.