Poets logo

Remembering

I came home when I remembered

By Leah LegaultPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Remembering
Photo by David Gavi on Unsplash

Home is remembering

Remembering why I’m here

Why I chose to come here

Why I’m needed here

In a way that only I can be

On Earth

This temporary experience

For my soul

This beautiful experience

Made even more beautiful

With me here

Because I have a gift

I can only give

And I remember now

My essence

My purpose

It came to me

In a meditation

After much asking

It was there all along

Just like they said it was

But it was hard to believe

It was hard to trust

So much of my life

Has been telling me

I have nothing to give

That’s needed

That gives back to myself

But I remember now

What brings me back to myself

Where I can flow

With my Dharma

Freedom of speech

In poetry

That knows no rules in my mind

From my heart fire

I spill onto paper

Time flies

When I’m home

It feels more right

Then anything

To feel freed

Through words

To know I may just

Free someone else

From the prison

I too held myself in

And I look around

I listen to hearts

With my eyes

With my heart

I want everyone

To come home

Those that are there already

They dance with inspirational light

Shooting stars

Like myself

Not feeling home

Till they chose to remember

We are dancing to the same beats

Different dance moves

But we are dancing

Weird beautiful dance moves

For all the world to see

But we are dancing for ourselves

We aren’t dancing to be liked

We are dancing our truth

When you come home

You dance the dead away

Your soul is free

Free to express

It needs to express

In its own unique way

For itself

For love

That we all are

And what better place

To call home

Then where you are

Free to be yourself

Needed to be yourself

As part of a loving whole

Knowing you are love

Love expressing through you

Experiencing itself

You open up the curtains

And not only

Does the light shine in

But your light shines out

On others

More people come home

We dance electric dance moves

Because if feels right

To be home

When you get there

When you remember

Your heart knows

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Leah Legault

Prefer to speak in poetry/I speak for women, moms, single moms, children, and anyone who feels like it's so hard to be here at times//Developmental Service Worker/ For inclusion/Love brains that works in different ways/Women's Healing Arts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.