Poets logo

Remember When?...

Nostalgia

By PreShus Grayson-LeePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Remember when...

Back in the day

the music was right

the beat was smooth

and the lyrics were tight?

Remember when...

You couldn't wait

to get your favorite tape

and you played it so much

that the wheels would break?

Remember when...

You knew every word

and you could do every move

the song would never get old

as long as you could find the groove?

Remember when...

A song had the power

to take a stand

or make you swoon over your lover

while walking hand in hand?

Remember when...

Life was a breeze

everything was fine

and your only concern

was making it back home in time?

Do you remember when?

Well I do, but it seems as though

the world has forgot

and the only concern

is flashing what you've got.

Now everyone has a chance

to break into the biz

and the only talent you need

is how "poppin you is".

Why can't we go back

to the good ole days

when talent was respected

and not so easily thrown away?

Is it too late to mend

the damage we've caused

to reverse the time

and redirect the applause

To those who deserve

to grace the stage

Regardless of gender, class, race, or age?

I don't know if we can

turn back the hands of time...

But every now and then

I go back to those favorite memories of mine

And I ask myself...

...Remember when?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

PreShus Grayson-Lee

Writing is my jam. Storytelling is my passion.

I love music (R&B and K-Pop are my faves). I edit videos. I write poetry. I'm a filmmaker and sound designer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.