Poets logo

Relationship or Religion

Choose Wisely

By David ThomasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

If you ask me which is the better option to get closer to God.

I would first really look at you really odd and say, “relationship of course because he is the only who sent his son to die on the cross to break the barrier in order to have a relationship with us and not man made doctrines or dogmas of men.

Being in a relationship with Christ to me means he is with me through every situation of my life.

He is guiding and walking with me through the pain and strife.

Even when I don’t get it right; Jesus is still faithful and always blesses me especially, when I lose my spiritual sight.

He is always there and has never left me nor forsaken me in my daily life.

Relationship with Christ is knowing of his grace and his mercy endures forever and he will always love you unconditionally without an agenda or reason.

You see, religion wants you to think God lets you go when you fall, but the relationship with Christ says, “he will hold on.”

Religion is what keeps its distance from people who are broken-hearted and lost in the world.

Religion will only give you instructions like your swimming to swim harder, but it will never actually help or walk you through it.

Unlike a relationship with Christ, religion can only hurt or harm others and bring dysfunction to families and even brothers or sisters.

So if I had a choice between a relationship or religion, I would have to choose a relationship with Christ, because he is the one who carried his cross and saved my life.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Thomas

I am a 34 year old author/spoken word artist who has written 2 poetry books and an autobiography. I love to write poems that are well versed and talk about everything that is going in society. I will putting some poetry on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.