Poets logo

Reflective Pull

original poetry by [g]

By Gabrielle NeavinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Reflective Pull
Photo by Oliver Sjöström on Unsplash

Sunshiny mid-morning skies

And warm salty breezes swaddle me

Like Grandma Annie’s afghan blanket

On a cold Ohio morning

In the bright blue horizon

I catch sight of a wet-suited surfer

Making his way beyond the breaks

efforting in spite of the violent waters

Bound only by the cuff on his ankle

He flops belly-first onto his board

His only trusted companion

For miles

I’m keenly aware that

This isn’t his first rodeo

As he’s probing out the perfect wave

To carry him back to shore

In the formless, deep blue

Known for subsuming

otherwordly beasts

He paddles headlong

Arms outstretched before him

Long and deliberate

He strokes with one arm, then the other

His cadence, steady

His stride, fearless and unbroken

As I stand at the edge of the water

I’m enraptured by his willful determination

I catch myself holding my breath

Apprehensive, yet awestruck by the view

I release the tension in my chest

As I remind myself to exhale

My heartbeat quickens

I whisper aloud in my solitude

“You can do this! You will do this!”

My heart opens

I’ve come to trust the anticipation of the wave

And here, on dry land -

I vividly recall the unaccounted moments

I myself fought for a chance to stand

On my own two feet

91028230 [g]

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gabrielle Neavin

To Shine Your Bright Light is the Sacrifice and the Gift.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.