Poets logo

Reflection of Surprise

Just Another School Day

By Bill CoomerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

A campus of thousands sitting on a hill, waiting for me to find my place.

Eyes strain to believe what they see, still I have to occupy my space.

I didn’t know how hard it would be, but it sure looked like fun,

Learning something new and expanding my mind and in one semester it would be done.

Why were they laughing as I chased to be on time, not thinking it was me

But just as I reached the door the reflection peered back to announce not a stitch of clothes were on my body from head to knee.

Naked as a jay bird and running around the school is not a good idea on any day

But thankful to know I had realized my offense before reaching that French class in early May.

I can’t get back home without another flash of skin as I retreat across the open ground

So, I’ll just have to close out this silly dream and wake up to the real life of which I’m bound.

END

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bill Coomer

I'm a real fan of Victorian Era crime stories and mysteries. Interests include theatre, music, literature, movies, TV and sports. I will share a broad range of subject matters in my writing and look forward to all of your feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.