Poets logo

Reflecting on reflection

With a troubling conclusion that too many of us sadly relates to

By Xian Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Reflecting on reflection
Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

Weird things happen inside of you when you take the time to reflect.

Except, what is reflecting? Reflection?

Am I doing it right?

What is right?

Is there wrong?

A Merriam-Webster definition,

Reflect, to give back or exhibit as an image, likeness, or outline,

There are a few more but I like this one.

Reflect, not looking back,

Reflect, not feeling bad,

Reflect, not giving excuses.

A third person to your own memories.

Memories of events,

Memories of reactions,

Memories of feelings.

How did we end up here?

Where would it have gone otherwise?

What should I do now

With the pain,

"I actually want to say you always made me feel like somethings wrong"

With the reaction,

"I would only give you half the story because I didn't trust that you wouldn't belittle the worst of it, so I left it out"

With my realization.

Another Merriam-Webster definition,

Reflection, the production of an image by or as if by a mirror.

My realization,

Oh my god, I'm my mother.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Xian

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.