Poets logo

Reel to Real

Comfort at the Cinema

By Kincaid JenkinsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Reel to Real
Photo by Felix Mooneeram on Unsplash

Across my eyes the credits begin

And in that moment I become

James Bond, Indiana Jones, Buckaroo Banzai

Their faces on the screen

Twinned with my own visage

Like an overlapping mirror

Until I am no longer a salesman

Or teacher, no corporate drone

Making copies of my life on paper

Here I get to be the hero

For at least two hours

When the horse blazes across the fields

I become the rider

When the tank charges down war torn streets

Or the plane outmaneuvers the enemy

I am briefly at those controls

Here I am the Final Girl

The survivor of the Apocalypse

The romantic lead

Living lives I would otherwise only dream

Lasting now until the end credits roll

art
1

About the Creator

Kincaid Jenkins

Author of "Drinking With Others: Poetry by the Pint" available at https://redhawkpublications.company.site/Drinking-With-Others-Poetry-by-the-Pint-p470423761 and for purchase on Amazon.

Instagram: kincaidjenkins103

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.