Poets logo

Red Spray Can

World Inside a World

By Morgan Christy RickardsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Red Spray Can
Photo by Matthew LeJune on Unsplash

Memories plagued my dreams and my waking hours. Memories of a not so distant past, that I wished dearly to forget. Every time I closed my eyes, those disastrous images flooded my mind. Red. Red everywhere. Sticky and dripping. Running down the giant walls of that giant’s home. Red red red. All over me, all over everything. Everywhere. A horrid reminder of what once was, and what will never be again.

Faces, voices, laughter and smiles. Lost forever. Then I recalled how they were lost, and my rage boiled furiously. Just as the winds did that day. I remembered how we were all shaken about. Flying through the air as our entire world, our home was being destroyed by the giants. Their greed and selfishness. As if they didn’t know that we even existed. The winds howling and our world getting warmer, and the air thicker until no one could breathe. Our movements becoming sluggish as though desperately running through water. Red. Red everywhere. Until a hole ripped through the atmosphere and everything was sucked out and thrown against hard surfaces, no mercy present.

Red. Red everywhere.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Christy Rickards

One half of Rickards and Jones Authors... Check out Rhys Barnard Jones on Vocal (and the story Root and Leaf on my profile) for the other half!

Find us on Instagram @rickardsandjones or visit rickardsandjones.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.