Poets logo

Red Sorrow

A Poem

By Kevin KlabonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Red Sorrow
Photo by Ed Leszczynskl on Unsplash

There lies a single sigh upon the wind, and she speaks not of tomorrow, my Red Sorrow.

My life, all my shame, The endless cold days, and all the imperfections, the wilted flowers I say,

All in the name, and impervious to the way.

A broken locket, battered and lame, a bruised soul all in the name...

Oh, but what a wicked game.

She whispers these promises, and she sings songs of my name...

My Red Sorrow.

The children's laughter, the games that they play, The violets are red, the roses are blue, but it is the purple posies that are planted for the dead.

My Red Sorrow, you walk through the grave, you plant your seeds and upon a chilled wind, you breathe.

I am ashamed of what I've become, my mind drives me to craze...

My Red Sorrow, your caress, your kiss, the end of your numbered days.

I am helpless as I watch, I see your end, I watch your life drain away.

Your eyes flutter as they close, and tears seep and find their way down your cheek, they settle on hallowed ground.

I push the memories back, so you may lay on the softest of grass, and here your soul may rest.

I say a prayer, steely are my eyes that take you in, I kneel and give you your very last kiss...

For this, I am ashamed, for it was good, and I hope for our sake that it lasts. I whisper our name...

For my Red Sorrow, you were my final, My last.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.