Poets logo

Red! It's Really Only Between Us! Red!

"The state has no business in the bedrooms of the nation." - Pierre E. Trudeau, 1967

By Sylvie GagnéPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Red! It's Really Only Between Us! Red!
Photo by Johnell Pannell on Unsplash

Oh Red! My passion! The color of love

To the outsiders, the color of hate

How do I know really if it's a dove?

How do I know really if it's a bait?

You are the only soul who lights my fire

Refreshing a cascade of cool water

Oh! Should I display some very tough ire

Or treat you as a small patty patter

When I am with you, you bring me to life

Inside society's ocean, it is death!

How can they cause both of us so much strife

When all we really want is life and health?

The body is only shell of the soul

For ours will entertwine forever whole

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Sylvie Gagné

I’m a high school teacher in a French Catholic board in Ontario, Canada.

I love traveling, cooking and listening to music.

I’ve always had a very imaginative mind since I was a child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.