Poets logo

Red hair dye

Little by little

By Emily Blaher-FelmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Little by little, I dyed my hair red,

Little by little, another layer of my identity shed.

Little by little, I let go some more,

Little by little, new versions of myself appear, my duty is to adore.

Little by little, in red crimson I am draped,

Little by little, a statement to the Universe that I have escaped.

Little by little, I face the protesting pleas,

Little by little, I allow all discomfort and all agonies.

Little by little, I tune into my heart's true desire,

Little by little, I am guided, it is time to inspire.

Little by little, a journey inward to somewhere sacred,

Little by little, the core of me is red, I am naked.

Little by little, I take off this mask,

Little by little, I let go of the pretence, in my true self I bask.

Little by little a red statement, a blood oath to myself,

Little by little, the truest version of me will no longer hang on the shelf.

Little by little, though it may just be red hair dye that I poured,

Little by little, it is an act of liberation, grounding my wavering roots from many lifetimes endured.

Little by little, a red ruby glistens,

Little by little, more of me listens.

Little by little, I thank the countless colours that have served me before,

Little by little, I open this new door.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emily Blaher-Felman

Releasing my heart's prophecies <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.