Poets logo

.Red Dye #2.

By Khalif J. Gillett

By khalif J. GillettPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

As if red #2 was my favorite shade of dye

A little drop is all that I need

Till I felt like I could die

Veins flared

Standing hairs

Popped vessel

Bloodshot eyes

For this red to spread like a disease

And as powerful and stubborn

Like trying to suppress a sneeze

Till the blood boils up

And it rushes to your head

Till you can't function anymore

So drag your idle heart to bed

And try again in the morning

I’m not too familiar with many other colors

Even if I piled them on

Layer after layer

It would still not be enough

To cover this red

So I have to ask:

Is this enough color for you?

Is this enough color to prove that what I am saying is true?

I suppose what I am saying to you

Is that when I tell you about this red

Please don’t look at me the way some do

I’m not under a bed

In the dark

In a movie

In gothic art

I’m not a monster

I am real

I’m just explaining to you how I feel

I’m not a bomb

Tick ticking

Counting down to an explosion

I will blow you away

But not with my built emotions

I’m just a little red

Red is stubborn color

And it can be a stark and yucky color

But it can be beautiful

If you make into something

This color shows a lot of support

It compliments things very well

This color can be a good sport

If it just stops trying to put me through hell

This color is what I have to offer

And I will try to make more

But this color will never see a point in trying

If you don't let this color get a foot in the door

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.