Poets logo

Recurring

A Child's Dream

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Recurring
Photo by Aravind Kumar on Unsplash

Every day/ a giant tall/ rumbles through the wood,

with heavy feet/ he fells the trees/ crushing those below his knees.

Every day/ my family flees/ like Dorothy’s kin outside,

to shelter found/ beneath the ground/ where we cannot be seized.

Every time/ I am the last,/ my family safe below,

and suddenly/ the giant sees/ me tugging at the metal door.

Every time/ he starts the chase/ I run inside the house.

Every time/ I kneel down/ and hide beneath a chair I've found.

Every time/ he lifts the roof/ and sees me kneeling there.

Every time/ I jump and run/ through the front door, past his lunge.

Every day/ I run and run/ and glancing back, I stumble

Every time/ falling from a cliff/ through the air for time unmeasured.

Every time/ I hit the bed,/ waking in the dark,

my pounding heart/ gives way to tears,/ and yet I feel relief, for years.

Every time/ I think of this dream,

I remember the years of feeling alone,

Both in my dream and there, at home.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Excellent poem. Great work. 🥰

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I love the format with this, It fits the dream (nightmare) perfectly

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Well done! I know I've had dreams of this type, and you did a wonderful job bringing the feelings and emotions forward :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.