Poets logo

Rebirth

Rising from the Ashes I Left

By The Girl in GreyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Written 7/5/2019

The minutes fall into raindrops sliding down the window of sight

Like I'm about to trip in a dream, but very much I am awake

When the doors all creek shut and the stray voices come alive in the night

When the doves return to their trees and waking hours fade

I wonder if the mind is more alive in its sweet sleep

If the senses become something reminiscent of butterfly wings

And less like a fly going through its 24 hour keep

Like the ground plays an orchestra as the wind begins to sing

In between this state of mind and the next

Wonder ponders my skull into shattered pieces

Between the scriptures I read and the virtues I test

Trying to do anything I can honestly feel this

Where peace becomes only an idea slumbering in spirit

I lie in the grass and let the sounds of family flood

Of all thoughts, in their voices, I can't hear it

The sayings and lyrics of all my blood

One day I will become awake once again

Hopefully fully realized in the color of huge wings

To be more than a dismisser of heartbreaks and sins

And be reborn into the searing flames of everything

Love always,

Chayle

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.