Poets logo

Reality's Visit

Sometimes the Truth hurts.

By Tamika Morrison OkelekePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
Reality's Visit
Photo by Dasha Yukhymyuk on Unsplash

Sitting on the dock of my mind.

Searching for True Love, I pray I find.

Daydreaming about joy and passion –

the fast pace of my heart as your prance

and model your latest fashion.

Together on a yacht, we let the waters take us away.

Away from the harsh realities life tends to bring.

You’re somebody’s man, but you’re my perfect dream.

How can I love one so passionately and so good?

I’m not even your woman, but we both know that I should.

Joy comes in and encamps my entire soul;

gives me hope one day we’ll grow together to be old.

Bright leaves falling gently,

soft hands tender kisses that you give me.

I’m drunk off the way you make me feel.

Damn, I don’t wanna wake up it this is not real.

Confused by the way I feel

passion can turn to hate and make you contemplate kill –

certainly against my will.

The confusion that comes with living a lie

keeps your eyes wet and your pillow drenched with cries.

True Love…where are you?

Please…come to my rescue.

Shine your light in my dark world.

Tell me…will True Love ever come to this Imperfect Girl?

© 2001 Tamika Morrison Okeleke

heartbreak
7

About the Creator

Tamika Morrison Okeleke

Writer, PR Evolution Coach and Founder, Wordsmith, Soul-healer. I use words to inspire, connect, & make a difference. Follow me @1stLadyofPR.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.