Poets logo

Real not Dream

Dream not Real

By Vicious AvaricePublished 10 months ago 1 min read

All my life I’ve been asleep

Dreaming of clearer skies

And as I slept you kept me close

Watching with your eyes

You saw me grasp

So many things

Most men never see

And when I tried

To stir awake

You silently left me

I’ve asked myself

So many times

How I could let you go

And the truth it came

As I fell asleep

I had no love to show

For I’m a dreamer

Who sleeps by day

The stars within my eyes

But you were real

No fantasy dreamt

The truth beneath my lies

I’ve not the strength of arm to grasp

Your hand to hold you here

I do not live within this world

It’s best that you’re not here.

sad poetryart

About the Creator

Vicious Avarice

The ramblings of a man obsessed with fate. Poetry, quotes, and inspiration. I am a published author who rides the beast of imagination. A storyteller. Check out my children’s book “The Christmas Monster” on Amazon or wherever books are sold

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Vicious AvariceWritten by Vicious Avarice

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.