Poets logo

Reading While It's Raining

Third Monthly YouTube Video

By Victoria-Louise SweetPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Reading While it's Raining.

I like reading in the summer too, especially by the pool, because when you get too warm you can take a dive to cool off. Honestly, I like reading all the time. However, that doesn't really fit in the poem. I don’t have a favourite book. There are just too many to choose from. However, I’m reading Sara Pascoe’s book Animal currently, which is really funny. It’s weird. When I was younger, I hated reading because my mum would always make me finish one book before starting another. I loved films a lot more when I was younger until I went to Sixth form and realised that if you find something you’re interested in, you could read anything to do with the topic. I know I really like dramas and sci-fi film films, but I don’t know if I prefer the same genre of books.

Anyway, hope you enjoy the film. It was shot in Ely, Cambridgeshire. I'm especially proud of my first rack focus on the phone box glass to Ely Cathedral.

I love reading when the rain falls

because another world just calls.

It is so relaxing listening to the droplets hit the ground,

when all you want to know is the answers to the problem found.

Because you know you're sound, safe and cozy, all tucked up indoors,

and not outside in the pouring, cold and wet storm.

However, at the same time, you're taken somewhere,

like to a forbidden dark mysterious lair.

It's so nice to escape your own problems,

as you find out the characters' you have to read to the end to help them.

When their problems are like your own,

you no longer feel alone.

If they are worse,

you don't feel like your life is a curse,

because it makes you appreciate life more.

When the monsters in the fantasy roar,

but even when the characters live happily ever after,

it only brings laughter.

As it brings hope,

so that we can cope.

For something the same to happen to us, if not, similar,

because when good people work hard in books they obtain what they desire.

art
Like

About the Creator

Victoria-Louise Sweet

Recent drama and film graduate that loves to create.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.