Poets logo

Reading Is A Kind of Victory

A Haiku

By D. J. ReddallPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
10
An AI Generated Image

Misunderstanding

Womb of a thousand evils

Withers as you read

Haiku
10

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶12 days ago

    Amazing truth in so few words! Excellent Haiku🤩

  • You always wow me with your haiku writing abilities. It's remarkable how much you can convey in such a short chunk of words and on top of that dropping a five-syllable word in the first line? Starts with a real bang!

  • Ward Norcutt17 days ago

    Using this strict form and exploring so far beyond its borders is risky and "usually" unsuccessful I would argue. Nevertheless, you are carefully and in intelligently evolving this traditionally and classically visual form. As you are probably quite aware, I prefer dense, sometimes terse pieces, either poem or prose; I believe there is more room to discover, to uncover. This is a wonderful blending of form and imagery.

  • Grz Colm17 days ago

    I like reading! 😁🤣 Ya know, I had to read this way too many times D.J before it actually made sense in my little noggin! ..which is part of the theme! Mission accomplished?! ;0)

  • Reading can inspire and educate us, but I know so many who will not read. Excellent Senryū (川柳)

  • Rachel Deeming17 days ago

    I agree totally. And it's not just current affairs either. It's everything! Even down to gossip columns because even then, you know what is making everyone else tick. I can't emphasise enough how much I agree with your haiku and you get a "deftly done" from me for the maternal imagery too. Powerful, reinforcing that idea of nurture gone and possible infertility on the horizon. Damning. Like it but not the sentiment.

  • Paul Stewart17 days ago

    You are just on haiku fire at the moment. I realise I have still not read your Frankenstein piece and will rectify that today if time allows and know I need to reply about a comment on Curb...alas...I've never really watched it...though I know it ended in a similar fashion to Seinfeld or at least followed things a little and there was some mixed feelings about it. On the subject of this...so true. and like you said to Dharr...humility is underrated...when we understand how little we actually understand...that's when we become better, wiser...imho. It's not so much a race to be the most knowledgeable. I have learned more from stuff I didn't know...if that makes sense? Love your haiku!

  • Omgggg, tell me about it! I am in that situation today. I don't know if I'm the one who misunderstood it. I hate life, lol. Loved your Haiku!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.