Poets logo

Reading Before The Fire

Escaping Between The Pages

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Reading Before The Fire
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

The dark room behind me

The fire aglow to the fore

Orange reflections in my whisky glass

Cosy behind my closed door

***

I lift my favourite book

Settle my glasses on my nose

Take a sip of the amber liquid

And feel the pleasant burn down my throat

***

Outside the wind, it howls

The rain taps on my windowpane

But before the fireplace

And the warm dancing of the flames,

***

I sip and gently turn the pages

And I feel myself relax

Into realms of fantasy

Where swords may clash and dance

***

Or into the worlds of humour

Comedy galore

That shuts my real life worries

Behind my old front door

***

Sometimes I sip my whiskey

And poke the fire’s coals

And read fine love sonnets

As I bathe in the golden glow

***

For every mood a story

A song or beautiful poem

To chase away life’s demons

And bring life’s wonder home

***

While others like to dance,

Run, game or indeed watch TV

My happiness comes from a crisp new book

And from within its pages, I dream

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.