Poets logo

raw

choices in pain

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Human Heart...As Raw as it Gets

RAW

NOT READY FOR CONSUMPTION

OOZING BLOOD

NOT COOKED

COULD CAUSE ILLNESS OR DEATH

DANGEROUS

TOXIC

THAT IS THE HURT I AM FEELING

REQUIRES HEAT

REQUIRES TIME

REQUIRES CHANGE

OR DEATH

BUT I MUST SWALLOW THIS RAW

THERE IS NO HEAT

BUT WILL I DIE?

SHOULD I DIE?

DO I WANT TO DIE?

I WANT TO FIND HEAT!

COLD

DRIPPING COLD

BLOODY COLD

ICY COLD

NO HEAT

I NEED HEAT!

TOUCH ME

HOLD ME

LICK ME

BITE ME

KILL ME

BUT DON'T LET ME FREEZE

I NEED HEAT!

NO HEAT

NO HEAT

NO HEAT

NO LONGER FIT FOR CONSUMPTION

FREEZER BURNT

GREY

NO DRIP

STONE COLD DEAD

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.