Poets logo

Raw Secret

Behind My Insecurity

By Rachel DowPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

You ask me why I’m so insecure

And I just smile.

For a moment,

I remember that you believe in me.

You believe in me

In a way I can never believe in myself.

You believe in me in the same way

Little kids believe in

Santa Claus and Peter Pan and

I don’t have the heart to tell you

That their commercialized success

Is to soften the blow of reality.

So even when you’re being pummeled to pieces,

When people are pulling off strips of your skin

To expose the secrets buried in your spine,

It still feels like you’ve got a friend.

The world isn’t as warm as you’d like it to be,

And not even Santa Claus can

Give you enough presents to fill the holes

Inside of you aching for human connection.

You ask me why I’m so insecure

And I just laugh.

For a moment,

I remember that you’re completely oblivious

To the entire beauty industry screaming at me.

Promising ways

To lose ten pounds fast!

Have voluptuous eyelashes!

Impress my man…

Be skinny,

But have the curves of a goddess.

Be smart,

But don’t ever share your opinion because

What self-respecting man wants to listen to a

Woman anyways?

Lose weight… Lose weight… Lose weight…

As if my size has anything to do with my personality,

As if the definition of beauty stops at the size of my hips

Cookie-cutter women constantly looking to magazines for things to fix

So the word beautiful doesn’t accidentally tumble

From our lips…

You ask me why I’m so insecure,

And I just frown.

For a moment,

I realize that you don’t understand

We women are fire

Most destructive to ourselves.

Burning,

Burning away until

We

Are

Nothing.

Dead,

Long before we reach our graves…

When I don’t have any substance left,

When the best parts of me have burned,

Maybe I’ll finally be worth something!

You ask me why I’m so insecure,

And I say nothing.

For a moment,

I realize that you don’t understand

I was taught to be this way,

Taught to be ashamed of my body,

Taught to wallow in insecurity

As if it’s a part of my D.N.A.

You ask me why I’m so insecure…

And I have nothing left to say.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Dow

Learning from life experiences and documenting them along the way. Poetry and connection with others makes my heart sing. All proceeds/gifts that you donate are going towards a mission trip to the Dominican Republic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.