Poets logo

Raven

Released

By Keisen SkyPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Ink was applied to my arm, a group of birds in which I was not familiar with the species. They would lay flat and black until hidden was no longer trapped. When they flew, the command of mine guided them. However, I did not.

They left my arm from time to time. They would return, but always with more blood on their beaks than the last. Though they feel my emotions change, they remain impulsive, waiting to take flight again. Whether I knew it or not, I'd find out eventually. With every new stain of blood that wasn't mine, they would fade, and I didn't know how they'd attack. I didn't know until they turned on me.

I had realized their nature is of a crows, talons like a falcon, determination like an eagle’s, and yet somehow they learned their attacks from me.

I'll know when they're done, they will be perfectly faded from my skin. However, the next application will be in a different form, but with the same intentions. It will blindly be me, as I am oblivious still to its actions. It will be connected to me, like the birds. It will be temporary. It will be familiar, it will act as my "familiar," and I will stare, seeing it as an unfamiliar reflection.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Keisen Sky

Aspiring model and influencer searching for their place in the world while writing stories and poetry. Please help, support me, tip what you like. I do appreciate it, and rely on them. Follow me on Instagram @sky_kei20

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.