Poets logo

Rainy Day Harmony

The Rhythm of Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

By Erin ShannonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1

On the rainiest of days,

nothing eases my disarray,

than the waft of cinnamon's embrace,

from the oven, a familiar place.

Mingling with banana and chocolate's kiss,

a symphony of scents, I can't resist,

my worries vanish, fears unspoken,

within my home, I find my token.

In my kitchen's corner, a sight so grand,

ripe bananas, waiting in command,

peeled and mashed, a tender delight,

a canvas of gold, soothing my plight.

Flour joins the fray, a binding thread,

sugar's touch, a sweetness spread,

but it's the chocolate chips, oh so divine,

a dance of flavors, in harmony they twine.

Folded gently into the golden mash,

each chip a memory, a comforting flash,

anchors of familiarity in tumultuous seas,

melting anxiety with every tease.

As the skillet sings, its heat ablaze,

the batter dances, a sizzling craze,

cinnamon's scent and pancakes unite,

a fragrant duet, my soul takes flight.

Flip by flip, transformation complete,

from raw to golden, a delightful feat,

a mirror to my journey, within and without,

finding solace amidst the whirlwind's shout.

Stacked on a plate, a tower of bliss,

banana chocolate chip, a symphony's kiss,

I taste belonging, in every bite I find,

comfort and refuge, in this rhythm I'm entwined.

As raindrops tap, against my window's pane,

I savor the flavors, the sweet refrain,

transforming grayest days to something new,

a rhythmic respite, within these pancakes true.

surreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Erin Shannon

A lost soul looking for direction. All things real. Sustainable living, Supernatural, and Self sabatoge. Kingston ON

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.