Poets logo

Rainbow

rainbow (adjective) 1 : having many colors 2 : of, relating to, or being people of different races or cultural backgrounds (Merriam-Webster dictionary)

By Maeve BonninPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am all the colors the world is terrified to see

The fury and the glory of all the shades of Life

I am the queen who says “no one can cage me, I was born free”

And slashes the darkness with her golden knife

I am all the colors the mighty need to dim

For they are a threat to their soulless desires

I am the fire they want to drown but I can swim

The sharp blade that rips the veils for us to fly higher

I am all the colors of skin, the infinite palette of humanity

I am the dark winters, when the souls rest wrapped in the skies

I am the bronze summers, when the earth crushes our vanity

And reminds us it’s not her we need to sacrifice

I am all my sisters, made of ebony and clay, ocher and cream

I am all the scars wreaked on great warriors

I am all their screams

I am the thunder that shakes your core

I am the bright Light the world needs,

Try to catch me and I will burst into iridescent dreams.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Maeve Bonnin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.