Poets logo

Rain

Drops

By Bex JordanPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Scattered (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

Yes, I am lost…

I've broken so many times,

Scattered myself across

Lines I never thought I'd

Have to cross.

My heart

Is too soft for

This world they've manufactured,

Where only the heartless artless

Are set up to win…

I am tired

Of pulling myself

Out of holes

We're supposed to pretend

Don't exist.

How do others find

A way around them?

Are we just going to ignore this

For forever?

And then I hear

A pattering

On the tin roof, like

A clarion call…

Rain,

Drumming, soothing

Cooling, a break in

Summer's oppressive warmth.

The world has always done this,

Precipitation creating clouds that

Burst, a release of

Life, falling to soil,

Seeping into roots

And water tables

To start the process anew.

And yes, there is a rainbow,

And yes, it is a colorful symbol

Of hope, but it's insubstantial,

Evaporating within moments;

I take more comfort

In the wetness I still

Feel on my skin,

The humidity I

Breath in, and I know

Like the rain

I will endure,

Fill up my empty cup and

Flow into holes

So I can

Remember

How to swim.

social commentarynature poetryinspirational
5

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I find the smell of rain incredibly energizing, too. Great poem!

  • Your poem gave out this surge of energy! So uplifting! I loved it!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    The pain and lethargy of the first section giving way to the cloudbursts and cooling rain ☔, really poignant. I can totally relate to that exact pivot. Superb poem. 👏

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    This is absolutely wonderful. I love the rhythm and rhyme scheme. Really great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.