Poets logo

Rage

Childhood Lost

By Kelley PacePublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Rage

I feel the fire in my soul

Every cruel word you spoke

etched in the smoldering brimstone of my heart.

In my strength, I have become weak.

Long have I been blind

If I cannot see love does it exist?

The rage inside of me burns all who dare to come near

I am lost in this abyss, and you put me here.

When will I look into a mirror and see

the beauty I once saw within me?

My nervous ways and insecurity

angered you

So I hid away

You released your rage

upon the cage.

I made myself.

I am ever existent, vibrant within this shell

but no one can tell.

I didn't realize.

My safety would be my solitude.

I am a stark gray beneath their color

I am muted.

Brilliance under cover.

Here I shall remain.

Until I find my freedom again

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.