Poets logo

Racism

Ending the past

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Racism
Photo by Liz Weddon on Unsplash

A color doesn’t define who you are.

You might look one way and see white, then turn around and see black,

But I look around and see scars.

Scars of a society repeating itself.

Or is it actually just revealing itself?

Racism was in our history books,

We were supposed to close it and put it back on the shelf.

A world divided by color,

Hating each other over past culture.

And I just don’t get it,

Because we don’t even know one another.

You don’t know me.

Growing Up I never had a dime.

On my way to the bus stop I used to walk in the corner shop just to steal me a drink and a snickers….

Or a few

Atleast then I could sell them at school to make a buck or 2

But that’s what I had to do

“Don’t convict her”

Moved from nowhere to C-port but was still livin the same life.

If a young black child bares arms it’s

‘Another adolescent teen with a gun’

But it’s their rights if they are white??

I’ve been shot at,

Been to parties that went bad,

I’ve even witnessed a few people get stabbed

And all before the age of 17.

If you can relate then you’re probably just like me, right?

I don’t know what ‘color’ you are, but I’m WHITE.

A young white girl in these situations are no different then if it were a young black girl.

I have no clue what white privilege feels like.

I’ve been in situations that endangered my life.

And I’ve seen that people bleed red,

It doesn’t matter if they’re black or white.

Racism should exist.

Blacks shouldn’t continuously hate white people because of a failed society of the past.

Whites shouldn’t judge black people as if every single one has a gun ready to blast.

Whites in the ghetto and blacks on suburban streets wearing $600 stilettos.

When can we let this go?

THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE BETWEEN YOU AND I

The government divides us, because together we would be to strong.

Understand the words I’m telling you, this is taking too long.

And I guess my last question is..

Do you think I’m wrong?

#endracism

-B.M.O.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.