Poets logo

Racing Thoughts

A Poem about Neurodivergence

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Racing Thoughts
Photo by Reid Zura on Unsplash

I really wanted to paint a portrait of the way that it feels when I'm spiraling out of control due to my ADHD or my depression. As much as I adore words, they just weren't quite powerful enough to capture the emotions on their own, so I decided to take it one step further.

The best way I could imagine to do so was with concrete poetry (also called "shape poetry"). The shape I chose is a simple spiral to emphasize how intrusive and racing thoughts often circle back on themselves. I will transcribe the poem below for those who use screen readers and other accessibility devices.

Racing Thoughts by Chelle Truman

Racing Thoughts

When people talk

About their thoughts

Racing

Does that mean

There will be a winner?

My thoughts

Mostly

Just run in circles

Chasing each other

Down the drain

In the dark.

Do you think

The darkness

Ever wishes

It could be

The light?

I think it might.

What a drain

That would be

Right?

Constantly wishing

You could be

Something you aren't

Just because

What you are

Is the loser

Of the popularity contest.

Or should I say

Race?

sad poetrysurreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well said!!! Left some love ❤️💕😊💖

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    This is wonderful. Very well done!

  • D-Donohoeabout a year ago

    Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.