Poets logo

Racing Games

Lines

By Abby RushPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

my actions are intended to be publicized

they aren’t for my pleasure

i do it to be criticized

chastised

it's blasphemy..

what is happening

i don’t want to win this race do i?

i tie my shoes together

i fall

i trip

i slip

i think i want to win

i want to win...

i want to win...

do i want to win?

frustration because stagnation

why? because although i try to find

a piece of rhyme

they control my mind

they create the chorus

stuck inside

line after line

it's catchy,

so i listen

my initial feeling

it's appealing

yet when i continue listening

my ears consumed

with the truth that i relate to you

hypocrite

i don’t care

all eyes on me

i care if I’m hated

i’m loved

i love the attention

i post for you

i don't care

i smile online

i log off

no sign of life

i do it for a gesture of affection

protection

perfection

it’s all about reputation

I’m creating separation between who i am \ who i want to be

i desire

attention

the correlation is extensive

pretentious beings

ostentatious beings

are we beings if we are scared to really be

can you see

because its not just in me

it is a we

we will never win

because we are turned around

we haven’t heard the pure sound

it is not a repetitive chorus

it's deep in the forest

it's from above

it speaks love

live for me

i died for you

that's your solid ground

that's the only rock I’ve found

it would be nice to rewind.

thats not what's requested

i’m not being tested

i have not missed it

this is just the beginning

thank you for coming

thank you for playing

log back onto the game

pick back up your shame

run for me

and you will win this world

i can run the race but not the same

as i did at the start line

i have a design

and it’s a straight line

the circles that have been chased

are all staged

strategically placed

by the enemy

there is sin in me

yet my savior is greater

thank you for coming

thank you for loving

log off of the game

give me your shame

run to me

and i will give you eternity.

\\\ \\\\ \\\\\\ \\\ \\ Racing Games

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.