Poets logo

RACE WITH NO END

Color Lines from Prison

By Destin TheusPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

RACE

How does it always come to this

Your Skin, Your Color

Why must that always be the case

Well in prison its like they don't understand

Slavery is over now

I'm a man, Your a man

That means we all can

See White people are funny

I mean Black people too

Truly both wonder HOW this is the way I talk

or WHY I do the things I do

Nina Simone once had a song back when

I can't remember the name

Or even how it went

Something about Mississipi Burning

A White Hate, A Black Lynched

See when you're in Mississipi's crosshairs

You've already been HIT

So why not try something different

Instead of waiting for the Blood to drip

They think my life is predestined

To be prepared for police questions

White and Black

Red and Blue

Should I be use to it?

Never but yes I'm thick of it

These perputual cycles has me mentally spent

All I want is Love, Hope and The Pursuit of Happiness

WAIT this sounds all too familiar and cliche

Haven't we been down this road before

But the shakers were the ones NOT making the law straight

Equality for all

Now what would that take

Honestly not much

Heres a start

Crossing the street to the other side

Because your smart

NOT because he was black and tall

Or maybe accepting you getting passed up on that home loan

Wasn't because he was white and bald

NO, NO

It cuts way deeper than that

These problems stem from the roots

Maybe when they brought us from our HOME to theirs

But there was no Welcome mat

Now they're mad cause we turned they're past-times black

You thought affirmative action is whats happenin

I'd rather have my 40 acres

At least thats honest work with no strings attached

Rather than these dimebags, Society has me trapped

I wanna make something of my own

Not some handout

All I need is a chance, I know what it takes

I've been the ONE providing from grade school

Since Daddy wasnt home

All of this hatred has turned my emotions into sheepskin

Constantly fighting the poke of the next man

Trying to use me, break me down

This struggle of scratching and clawing with every limb

LOOK, WATCH

Society wont break me again

I swear Im about to beat you

And then I'll WIN

Win What?

This RACE has no end

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Destin Theus

I am the CEO and Creative Director for MNWHLE ENTERPRISES. Music, Management and Streetwear. "Creativity Through Culture" is our Motto.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.