Poets logo

Quoted

a song about an ex who tends to act one way on the record and completely different off the record

By Le LPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Like

Everything that's been said to me

lives rent free in my memories

they used to fuck with me mentally

but now they're giving back the strength i need

I'm turning over a new leaf

I'm feeling completely unique

I'm finally finding out who i am

and I don't need a man who doesn't give a damn

now lets look back cus according to the facts

love is what you lack

so maybe you shouldn't have said that

you've been quoted

on the record, you're amazing

you've been quoted

but off the record, you're just crazy

you've been quoted

on the record, loved me deeply

you've been quoted

off the record, hate is all i see

let's go over a few of your more memorable

quotes

pay attention and take few notes, so you don't requote

"listen up queer,

you're lucky i'm still here

get out of my face, and go disappear

take a good look in the mirror"

quoted

"stupid, pussy, whore, bitch, freak

when did i marry someone so weak"

quoted

"i didn't hurt you that bad

why do you make me get this mad"

you've been quoted

on the record, you're amazing

you've been quoted

off the record, you're just crazy

you've been quoted

on the record, loved me deeply

you've been quoted

off the record, hate is all i see

i didn't know leaving you

wasn't the hardest thing i would have to do

unlearning you and everything you put me through

now that's the real issue

flight, fight, or freeze

nothing ever worked for me

fight i was too aggressive

flight i was too selfish

and freeze i was too sensitive

in the end i just grew numb.

how could i be so dumb

thinking i was your number one

well, babe, those days are gone

so, i hope youve been a lot of fun

playing around with this loaded gun

You pulled the trigger when you kidnapped our son

yes sir i am finally done

you've been quoted

on the record, you're amazing

off the record, you're just crazy

you've been quoted

on the record, loved me deeply

off the record, hate is all i see

slam poetrySong Lyricsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Le L

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.