Poets logo

Quiet Contemplation

Love isn’t forever

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
Quiet Contemplation
Photo by Luis Galvez on Unsplash

Afternoon breeze

Quiet contemplation

Of the joy, we shared in life

Before your revelation

***

Sipping cocktails in the sun

Red wine before the fire

Tee-Shirts and summer dresses

Overcoats to keep us dryer

***

We enjoyed life through every season

Through sickness and in health

In laughter and joy

Through poverty and wealth

***

From the day we said our vows

We were at each other’s side

To love and support each other

I thought ’til the day we died

***

But then one summers day

As we were enjoying the rays outside

Your tears began to spill

As you said your loves denied

***

You had met someone who deserved your love

Much more than did I

And as you walked away from me

I couldn’t help but cry

***

I blame myself for your leaving

If I had been better you may have stayed

You may have still been in my life

Enjoying these summer days

***

Afternoon breeze

Quiet contemplation

Reading your wedding announcement in the paper

My lifetime ruination

heartbreak
16

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.