Poets logo

QUESTION: Jobs You Can Mess Up, And Still Have A Job

ANSWER: Meteorologists

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
QUESTION: Jobs You Can Mess Up, And Still Have A Job
Photo by Craig Whitehead on Unsplash

Dear Weatherman,

Are you serious?!

I plan my days based on the words that you say, and with every new broadcast it changes. I packed the umbrella, you said, 80 and rain, now it's 30 below, would you care to explain what the deal is?

This isn't the first time that you've let me down, I don't have enough fingers to count them. If I did my job with your kind of mistakes, I'd be begging for my source of income.

I imagine it's tough reigning in mother nature, she is as temperamental as they come. But it's like you're flipping a coin, or just guessing, that won't cut it, from where I come from.

So guessologist is what we call you, we aren't impressed with the games that you play. So be wary of what you are wearing, If I find you - it's going to rain!

Have the day you deserve,

Let-down, inconsolable audience member

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (33)

  • Adam Haynesabout a year ago

    Guys, jobs' question is really important in our lives. Anyway, I know that sometimes it can be difficult to find a good job, especially if you're unemployed. However, once I accidentally found this website https://layboard.in/vacancies/jobs-in-uae/jobs-in-dubai/speciality/physiotherapist where I was able to look at vacancy that suits me well. If you also want to find something new for yourself, take a look at this.

  • Ali Abbasabout a year ago

    Nice story and congratulations on your top story. Keep it up.

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    You tell 'em Kelli! Great theme going here as there are LOTS of jobs that need to come under the stroke of your poetic pen. Well done Top Story-an!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Right on! Congratulations on Top Story πŸŽ‰

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Woohoo!!! Love this!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’•

  • Congratulations πŸŽ‰ πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    So well done. Congratulations on Top Story

  • Mrs. Wifey Chroniclesabout a year ago

    I love catchy stories like this. Your intro had me rolling lol.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Bahahaha, that closing!!! So true where I live. Very glad I didn't become Heather the Weather Girl like my pap-pap used to call me when I was little. I do not envy their job at all. Great work on this one! Congratulations on Top Story :)

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    ❀️🀣🀣. This is awesome. I’m cracking up!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    In MI, the weatherperson is always correct: we have seven kinds of weather in one day! Great post!

  • That was a fun take on the challenge and congratulations on your Top Story

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yay. Congrats on the top story.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Love the beginning Dear Weather man Are you serious

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Lol, made my day. What Channel do you get your weather forecast? πŸ˜‚I hope you get your 190 read. Congratulations in advanced πŸ‘πŸŽ‰β€οΈ

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    "An Inconsolable audience member" πŸ˜…-There is nothing he can do to fix the way I feel about his disaster of a forecast- Great letter!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Hilarious and so true, guessologist is so funny. I won’t ever watch another weather person and not call them that!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Haha!!!! Perfect! Your sign off was the best!

  • Guessologist!!! Lol that's freaking hilarious! 🀣🀣🀣🀣 I love your Epistolary!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    "Have the day you deserve." 🀣🀣🀣 I aspire to this level of petty and I intend to use this line in the future to incendiary effect! Kudos to you!

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    I’ll lend them my knees for more accurate forecasts πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ nice job kelli πŸ˜€

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Love it. Just flip your own coin and save the time! πŸ˜‚πŸ₯°

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    I plan my day around their forcast

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Oh man, I couldn't agree more! I WISH I could make those kinds of mistakes at my job! You got this perfectly.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.