Poets logo

Queen of Hearts

Interlaced Quatrains

By D.K. ShepardPublished 2 months ago Updated 18 days ago 1 min read
4
Queen of Hearts
Photo by Quaritsch Photography on Unsplash

My compass led me here, must be broken,

To slanted streets in a tilted city

The one of which trembling lips have spoken

A cry “All hail her royal majesty!”

Under a ceiling of chandeliers, gold

Flames swirling with crimson in my goblet,

The court celebrates the queen’s birthday. Bold

And lustrous rubies like dark blood droplets

Drip from her throat to her chest. Her fierce eyes,

Are serpents circling vats of viscid tar.

She bids me stay the night and I comply

But morning sun streams in through iron bars.

My feather pillow now a pile of straw,

Moldering and damp, dungeon walls covered

With grime, and shackles rubbing my wrists raw.

All the rumors, their true tale discovered –

Fly in a spiderweb, ensnared by her.

The immortal queen eats a special tart,

Vanilla, cherry, something sinister

The last ingredient: my beating heart.

For Fun
4

About the Creator

D.K. Shepard

Character Crafter, Witty Banter Enthusiast, World Builder, Unpublished novelist...for now

Fantasy is where I thrive, but I like to experiment with genres for my short stories. Currently employed as a teacher in Louisville.

dkshepard.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 2 months ago

    Damn that ending was powerful!!! The entire poem built up to it so beautifully!

  • Excellent poem with all Poppy’s word prompts ✅. Loved the rhyme , beautiful vivid language & atmosphere. I’m still recovering ❤️‍🩹 from the shocking final line!😵‍💫. Amused by your chosen descriptor afterwards: for fun!😳

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Ooh, I like the bit where the morning sun slants in, straight away the sense of the glamour falling away is made.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.