Poets logo

Quarter Past a New Day

Oh dear, tomorrow's here.

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

As my personal witching hour approaches

My early 4:48 psychosis

My breath comes thick

Not with memory exactly

But more a reflexive dread

And excitement

A compulsion perhaps

Sometimes I sing

My song to the faraway sailor

To keep him safe from the black hags

that do be flyin’ on the sea

Most of the time I am silent

Defiant

Or simply tired

Or blissfully unaware

There are weeks

There are months

Where I do not blink at this time

Where I’m far too occupied

But lately I’ve been embracing regression

And warming to that lullaby

Again

I fear I’ll break the spell

If I set it on the page

Thus am I held in thrall -

Thus, and that I wouldn’t let them

Cut that candle

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.