Poets logo

Quarry Lake

Floating on Beauty

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Quarry Lake
Photo by Nathan Gonthier on Unsplash

Life jacket goes on

A paddle thrusts in my hands

The docks awaits me

By Tj Holowaychuk on Unsplash

...

A kayak is grabbed

Pulled closer towards the dock's edge

"Go ahead. Climb in."

By Iryna Khan on Unsplash

...

One foot goes in first

Followed by the other foot

The boat starts to rock

By Nadim Merrikh on Unsplash

...

I bend at my knees

I squat down, steady myself

The seat catches me

By Devon Divine on Unsplash

...

I push off the docks

Paddling through the water

I begin to glide

By Filip Mroz on Unsplash

...

Churning and swirling

Small vortexes of water

Whirlpools in my wake

By Enrique Ortega Miranda on Unsplash

...

Large pond or small lake?

Forty feet at its deepest

Stick close to the wall

By Artem Zhukov on Unsplash

...

Tree branches hang low

Flower buds fall in the lake

Shade helps from the sun

By Jasper Graetsch on Unsplash

...

The paddle feels short

I dig deeply on both sides

It's quite the workout

By Pete Nowicki on Unsplash

...

A small embankment

I like to think it's a cove

Sunlight's coming through

By Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

...

Mom and Dad row up

Mom rests her boat next to me

Later, we move on

By Brandon McDonald on Unsplash

...

Traveling the edge

Rotten trees on the bottom

New life grows on them

By Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

...

A freshwater lake

Blooming life like coral reefs

And long tendril plants

By Benjamin L. Jones on Unsplash

...

Small fish swim about

Hiding in vegetation

Darting in and out

By yu tang on Unsplash

...

There in the center

I think I see the shallows

I paddle over

By Martin Hayes on Unsplash

...

Just as I expect

Portions of it are raised up

A mountainous lake

By Sven van der Pluijm on Unsplash

...

Paddle to the docks

I am helped with getting out

I leave with wet socks

By Iryna Khan on Unsplash

...

The sun bakes on us

The lake was quite refreshing

Let's go grab a drink

By Ben Lambert on Unsplash

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Simply beautiful; almost enough to over ride my fear of large bodies of water (not quite) but it was really easy to get caught up in your words! (yet I have a thing for Karst sinkholes and we have a bluestone quarry lakes 2 miles from my home!)

  • Gina C.2 years ago

    I really enjoyed this poem and how it brought about both a sense of exploration and freedom and also of comfort. One can feel the sense of exhilaration as they paddle out further from the shore, and is this wrapped in warmth and familiarity as they approach the dock again. Well done!

  • Wonderful! Very sweet poem. Love this part very much: Paddle to the docks I am helped with getting out I leave with wet socks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.