Poets logo

Quarantine: a Month of Haiku

On Day 25 of This, I finally figured out how to process my days: seventeen syllables every night. Here’s the result (so far).

By Claire Amy HandscombePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Most of the day: rain,

but a walk in the sunshine.

Ice cream: delivered.

Spring: a dress, smooth legs.

Sun on my face. Paperback.

Pause to smell blossom.

Dreams of human touch;

Welcome voices in machines;

Books on my doorstep.

Friday night. Eerie

quiet in the neighbourhood.

Cold: the weather knows.

Cops in Lincoln Park

Street Musicians in face masks

War, and yet: spring blooms

Hope! He is risen!

I’m remembered. Thoughtful treats,

Yelled greetings from cars.

distance means nothing

laughter with faraway friends

a month without touch

Made a child laugh. Worked.

Celebrated two birthdays.

Life continues on.

the smell of mown grass

the blossom almost gone now

we stand in the sun

blue sky. I don mask

(or scarf); loop Capitol grounds

—empty. Unsettling.

Sleep eludes me. Naps.

Headaches. Upstairs, the floors creak.

Another month? Sigh.

Scarf over my mouth

I shop; refill my freezer

stockpiling for war

rest, walk, time “with” friends

a thousand words on paper

a hug-less week starts

cherry blossom: gone

nature’s unrelenting hope

brings new flowers still

Why am I still here?

Outward smile. Silent screaming.

I want out of this.

Are you tired? I am.

Writing seems impossible.

We go on. We must.

Small joys, so vital

Stories read from the pavement

Some comfort TV

computer headaches

suppressed emotions surface

early morning angst

Unexpected joy:

a street wedding! Sparkling wine!

Love is real. There’s that.

down to my last pants

laundry: insurmountable

as are all tasks now

Friends so close and yet

untouchable. We adapt

too easily, no?

will blue light glasses

make me feel better or will

only touch do that

Everything hurts. But:

a cocktail in a Ziploc,

freshly home-baked bread.

I cry in the park.

Strangers smile, understanding,

concern in their eyes.

Another week done.

Two days of rest now? No, more

sad monotony

a singing baby,

ducks in the reflecting pool:

today, that’s enough

Screens: faces, voices

remind me who i am and

call me home, maybe?

it’s become routine:

ambient anxiety and

Monday lunchtime walks

I drown out silence:

strangers’ voices in my phone.

No room for thought, thanks.

tension in my back

I read poetry, breathe; I

write romance, escape

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Claire Amy Handscombe

Host of the Brit Lit Podcast.

Books:

UNSCRIPTED, a novel about a young woman with a celebrity crush and a determined plan

CONQUERING BABEL: A Practical Guide to Learning a Language

WALK WITH US: How the West Wing Changed Our Lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.