Poets logo

Purposeful Madness

A Poem About Triumph

By EYHCSPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2

It was worth every step.

Not the image of who I hoped to be.

But the reality of who I am.

Every rock overturned.

Every stone moved aside.

The madness of self-discovery begins with self-forgiveness.

Forgiveness for who I thought I was.

Forgiveness for who I am.

Forgiveness for who I portrayed you to be.

Forgiveness for who you painted me to be.

The weary traveler finally found a home.

And it isn’t under a glass snow-filled dome.

My canvas is a masterpiece.

The colors collide.

The scenery pops.

No one gets the chance to draw lots.

Yes, I’ve traveled through madness to find me.

In precisely the place I needed to be.

I am now truly set free.

Thank you for reading my poem of reflection.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

EYHCS

Poet by birth. Writer by craft. Artist by nature. I write poems, prose, short stories, fiction, and realism works of art dissecting the human condition and the resilience of the human mind. Many of my pieces are metaphoric stanzas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Self forgiveness is so very important to setting ourselves free A powerful poem!

  • Yes forgiveness is very important especially to forgive ourselves! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.