Poets logo

Purple

Two Colors Make One

By Elaine RadosevichPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Purple
Photo by Gleb Lucky on Unsplash

The waves reach up

To touch the sand

And I am anchored

Where I stand.

Light and water,

Sparkling, true

Act as a mirror

That I peer through.

The ocean calls,

It summons me

And shows me all

That I could be.

The rising tides,

The crashing foam

Sing to me

“You must be home.”

When I look out

Across the sea

I feel as if

It must be me

The waves, the sky

Each shifting hue

Makes me think

I must be blue.

But then I see

The sun dip low

And I am captured

By its glow.

Shades like rose

And peonies,

My soul echoes

What it sees.

I watch the sun

Fall from above

And my heart aches

And fills with love.

Shifting low,

In flushed hues,

It sings to me

“This must be you.”

When I watch

The sun sink down

I feel as if

I am found.

Blushing shades

That make me think

My heart knows

That I am pink.

Blue or pink,

Pink or blue,

How can both of

These be true?

Can I be each,

Two things yet one,

Or must I pick

Where I belong?

I watch the waves

Rocking slow

And see the sun

As it falls low

And as they meet

And one become

I realize what

Is my true sum:

My heart is pink.

My soul is blue.

And I am purple

Through and through.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elaine Radosevich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.