Poets logo

Purple is the awareness color of Fibromyalgia and Functional Neurological disorder.

I have both of these disorders.

By Donna BolchPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4

After years of hell and hundreds of tests, I said to both of the doctors ,..."ok that is diagnosis , so how do i fix it?"

They both said there is no cure . I said "NO! I cant be stuck with this for life!" They said im afraid you are.

I only wanted to be healthy and fit, so i could run with my kids.

But instead i am disabled and cannot walk far.

My cane is my sidekick where ever i go,

my wheelchair whirs when i go to the shops,

being pushed backwards on my walker by my hubby or kids,

is a way to get up a ramp to the top.

The pain is constant, in every bit of my body.

Millions of ants march around it with hot torches.

my whole being seizes when i am lying down,

and the sweat from my brow means i feel like im scorching.

My ears are ringing .like a never ending chirping of crickets,

my fingers go numb and my feet are like ice,

my headaches, while seeing stars and lines,

and my food gets stuck in my chest ,especially rice.

The tightning of muscles is hard to bear,

and standing for five minutes feels like five hours.

Burning , and cramping in my legs and my feet,

and im falling asleep, every 2 to 3 hours.

My social life is not quite the same,

i have to say no sometimes now.

People dont understand ,or comprehend what i am going through.

And sometimes i frustrated and feel like a cow.

Sometimes i have a relatively good day,

and then i over do it,

ending up in bed for hours on end,

and i feel like my body has been betrayed.

Lady gaga has put a spotlight on fibromyalgia,

but there is not much awareness about FND,

so in order to create more,

please wear purple for people like me.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Donna Bolch

i am the very proud mother of two incredible humans,and the wife of a wonderful husband of more than 20 years,.

i suffer from fibromyalgia and functional neurological disorder.

I love photography, and reaching my goals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.